First Day (Ever) of Homeschool!

Wow, wowza, wow, wow, WOW!

I am sooooo happy with our decision to homeschool! Today was our first official day ever of homeschooling. Well, it wasn’t my first day, as I was homeschooled Kindergarten through 5th grade, but it was a first for my kids. I wasn’t sure that my son, Matt, was into it. He is 14 and was getting ready to head into High School after being in public school his whole life. When my husband, Brandon, was driving him to his Freshman orientation, he exclaimed, “I don’t want to go. I would rather be home schooled with the girls”. Well, we thought we had talked about this many times before and figured it out, but it takes Matt time to process things, and he is not the best at communication. We discussed it, in depth, again, ONE MORE TIME, and we told him we were on board. So that meant I was scrambling last minute to get a NINTH grade curriculum planned out!

29125300290_fa5be1c05f_z

I am beyond happy, though. Do you see that smile up there, on that young man’s face? That is not normally there (haha)!

Today was our first full day, and it was AMAZING! I saw my teens HAPPY! And I got to witness it, because I was right there running the show. They were engaged in learning, interacting with each other, myself, and their little sister. I could already see after ONE DAY that Matt’s confidence in his own abiliiies were starting to bolster. Last year, and this happened all the way though middle school, he would say negative things about himself like, “I’m not smart”. Today, he was beaming when he go 100% on an English quiz via Time4Learning.

Yesterday, we went to a picnic with other homeschool families. I was very excited and nervous to attend, because I really didn’t know anyone. I had met a couple of the moms once or twice, and they were there, and another mom greeted me warmly the moment I arrived. It turns out there is a great network of other homeschool families in our area. It seems like a very diverse mix of people who are all educating their children at home, and there are a TON of activities planned throughout the year that we can participate in. And that is only one group out of 4 in the area that I would like to be involved in.

On a side note, I just bought a total mom-mobile. Field trips are a big priority for me, and our other vehicle would be too crowded for our growing family (and dogs, etc.) so I thought to myself, you know I really need one of those big, old conversion vans like my Uncle Dewey used to have, and I looked it up on Craigslist and Voila…!
29333926171_e6306a441e_z
I may be a little too excited about this van but I LOVE IT! Photo by Matt at our trip to Wyalusing State Park last weekend. 

So, our first couple days were wonderful, and I am so GRATEFUL that I have the opportunity to be able to go on this journey with my kids. I kept pinching myself the entire day, I felt like I was living in a dream. Wow that is hokey, but I’m not even kidding.

The little one, my sweet and sassy Kindergartner, Fiona, well she’s as bright as a button. Light years “ahead” academically, I’m not worried about her education one bit. I just want to hold on to that natural love of learning that she possesses, and encourage her endeavors and creativity as much as I possibly can.

29125217080_8d798905c6_z

Fiona is really happy that she is able to have more (healthy) SNACKS!

Last year at this time, I thought I would have a kid in each school – Elementary, Middle, and High schools. Now, I feel so much closer to them, especially the older two, having them at home. It means so much to me on so many levels, and I can tell even after one day that it means a lot to them as well. I could go on and on, but I won’t. I’ll just keep posting on this blog so we can let this journey unfold and see the magic.

Until next time, happy learning!

 

 

Leave a Reply

