In Homeschool This Week (take 5)

Online Resources That I Love This Week:

Thug Notes (not for everyone and DEFINITELY for teens/High School): A very different take on literature analysis. My teens LOVE this.

ReadWriteThink: Excellent site with lots of free printables and ideas for reading, writing, and thinking!

Democracy Now: An independent, daily, global news resource that I find very valuable. I watch this daily with my kids for “Current Events”.

Crash Course: An insane amount of excellent videos on a wide range of topics. A must see.

Books That I Love This Week:

An Illustrated Book of Bad Arguments by Ali Almossawi
My teenage son LOVES to argue with me. The problem is, he doesn’t exactly use any LOGIC to win his arguments. This is an awesome book for all ages, even adults, to learn about that little thing called Reason.

30251292066_1ea031f077_z

Physics: Why Matter Matters by Simon Basher
This book is AWESOME. We found it at the library, and it is such a great introduction to all the different concepts in Physics. I might need to buy this one. Even my Kinder loved it, yet it still has enough information and detail to be appealing to the older kids. There are a whole series of these books — worth checking out.

On Thursday, the teens did their work for Math on Khan Academy and their Spanish on Duolingo right away in the morning while I was getting some of my own work done for our small business (i.e. accounting). Fiona did some art and imaginary play, and then we created special index cards with all of her school subjects and activities (along with some fun things like “do jumping jacks”) and put those into a basket so that she can pick them out throughout the day.

Then all three kids started a project I found on the website ReadWriteThink, which has some great resources! They created found poems! I set out a few books for this kids to pick from, without telling them what we were about to do. Then they selected a section of the text, and edited it down until they created a poem (essentially). The full instructions can be found here.  They turned out great!

During lunch we discussed poetry form a bit more and I read some poems aloud, which my teenage son promptly made fun of. Oiy.

After lunch, we continued our discussion about “Animal Farm” by Orwell. We watched the Thug Notes video on it (my kids love these….yes they are inappropriate, that’s why my kids love them).

After this, we were going to continue on with our movie-based Literature unit and start The Color Purple, when my son asked me, “Who was the first human?”

Well, that’s a big question. Let’s stop what we are doing and do some research about that. We ended up starting the Nova series “Becoming Human” on PBS (via YouTube).

Which leads to the next question from my son, “Who was the first white person?”

I responded, “Did you know that race is a social construct?”

WHAT?!!

Our research led us to the TED talk, “Nina Jablonski Breaks the Illusion of Skin Color”. Awesome video and explanation.

Side Discussion: Know Your Sources — how to sort through all the nonsense out there.

Also, Race may not be real, but racism is.

Question #3: “So what about the first ever life on this planet?”

OOOfta. They are hitting it hard today! We dipped our toe into the immense ocean of this discussion by watching a video on Crash Course – The Origin of Life. Obviously, it is a very short explanation but it started a discussion.

That discussion escalated very quickly into a heated debate between my son and I, where he used comedic tactics (and absolutely NO data or logical points of any kind) to try and win an argument with me against evolution. It was…..interesting.

So…we watched a little TED talk by David H. Cohen “For Argument’s Sake”, which was very interesting to me but my kids were still laughing so hard they didn’t pay much attention to it. Yeah, school was done after that.

However, I immediately looked up some teacher resources about LOGIC, and found this gem of a book, which I ordered immediately and cannot wait to dive into. It is called, “An Illustrated Book of Bad Arguments” by Ali Almossawi, and you can find the entire book for free on his website, or purchase the hard cover on Amazon.

Our afternoon of “Question School” was a success and a challenge. I want to continue doing this a lot, because I want to know what do my kids really think about and what do they want to know? If they are learning questions that they are asking themselves, they will definitely be learning and retaining the knowledge better!

In Other School….

30004359632_2b4547a366_z 30119391255_cfde3679d8_z

Fiona created a “twiggy hat” out of some found bits of nature

She also had fun at the Library this week, and played Blokus, I Spy, and read lots of books

29795949620_119b6e4d39_z

And we’ve been playing a fun math game at home for adding and subtracting with dice and wooden shapes:

29981065682_91ed241c03_z

Most of all, I love it when my kids make music!

29505001734_cd9711cd98_z

Leave a Reply

